Christmas Night Movie – Mixed Nuts

This year I was planning on watching Die Hard as my Christmas night movie. However, someone at my Christmas Eve party suggested Mixed Nuts from 1994.

2ry62h2

Somehow I’ve never seen this movie. It stars Steve Martin, Madeline Khan, Rita Wilson, Juliette Lewis, and Anthony LaPaglia. The supporting cast is just as star packed: Rob Reiner, Adam Sandler, Liev Schreiber, Gary Shandling, Parker Posey, and Jon Stewart.

The entire movie takes place on Christmas Eve at and around the office of a suicide prevention hotline. It is a little trans-phobic, but being from 1994 it is not that unsurprising. It could be a lot worse. I don’t know why this movie was so critically panned. It has only 7% on Rotten Tomatoes. I found it funny and surprising. The scene with Madeline Khan in the elevator is worth watching on it’s own. I recommend this for your future holiday viewing.

I don’t think I posted about it, but last year my Christmas Night movie was Love, Actually.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

